The Future of the Board

The main forum where you can talk about the festival - from the line-ups to camping advice and everything in between. Also forum for generally chatting and talking about things.
On Monday, another board I frequent decided that it was shutting down it's forum.

While never been the most active member, I have been posting there since 1999 and over the past 10 years have visited almost every single day. But even at that, I was surprised by the sadness that came over me when I read the news.

This, coupled with recent complaints about how dead this place has been, got me thinking; where does the fate of this place lay?
Do you think it'll ever be shut down while it's still relatively active or will people post less and less until it becomes a ghost town?

Either way, it'll all be eric the beard's fault.
shivo

I used to post on IMDB and they're shut down as well.

This place is totally dead now, yeah..... :(
dwayne

To succeed now, communication needs to be an intrinsic part of how a user uses a website, not just a subsection of it.
If Electric Picnic were to go in this direction it would be a total revamp that we probably wouldn't like.
I imagine Gareth, or whoever it is these days, would just move this elsewhere under another name.
Either way, it's bleak.
Phierstarter

Board to the Future

The board has been on death's door before, it's still here, though with increasingly fewer regulars and absolutely no fresh blood.

I'd like to think that some Electric Picnic committee decides to keep it alive as some kind of showcase of first gen Picnic goers. Like a home for dotty auld ones.
i_ate_cats

surprised by the lack of new blood

even in and around festival time, there seems very little uplift
maradara

The organisers know that by keeping us on here, we stay away from the more important EP Facebook page. Polluting that with our views on music, films and the festival in general might be viewed as detrimental to ticket sales.